Reflection: Topic Four

Digital Ethics.png
Figure 1 – self produced on canva.com

Topic 4 has by far been the most eye opening and informative week. Having read the posts of other contributors I have developed a rich understanding of digital ethics; from the digital divide (e.g. Louise’s post) to privacy (e.g. Carolina’s post). Similar to other contributors (e.g. Andy and Scott) I explored ethics in the light of social media. I chose to explore how social media creates a non-idealistic view primarily because it’s interesting, but also to raise awareness to my fellow digital residents on how social media can cause immense psychological distress and how to avoid this even though being so highly exposed to it.

Being able to choose a topic to explore this week inspired my creativity, which I believe has been reflected by my increased use of visuals. For instance, with the aims of making my post more informative I created a slideshow on piktochart.com which helped in adding more content to my post and I’ll therefore continue using this form of infographic in the future.

Sharon’s comment opened my eyes of this topic in a business perspective, by looking at case studies of companies who failed to promote an idealistic view of beauty in their campaigns (see below). This enlightened the argument that this “non-idealistic view” has been around long before social media, which strengthened my belief that it’s more effective to educate ourselves on how to stop media affecting us rather than argue against what is published.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Figure 2: (Bahadur, 2014)

Scott’s comment interestingly connected my topic with the online-recruitment screening process by suggesting that it also increases the pressure for users to put their best self forward. In our discussion I mentioned the benefits of being authentic even in professional circumstances which lead to the agreed thought that both employees and employers should be considerate when using social media for professional reasons.  

(306 words)

My comments:

Rachel’s Blog https://rlw1g14.wordpress.com/2017/03/26/how-ethical-can-childrens-use-of-social-media-be-if-they-dont-even-understand-the-word-ethics/#comment-30 

Oliver’s Blog https://oliverlocke.wordpress.com/2017/03/26/topic-4-social-media-ethics/#comment-33 

References for figures:

Figure 1 

Self produced on canva.com

Figure 2

Bahadur, N. (2014). Victoria’s Secret ‘Perfect Body’ Campaign Changes Slogan After Backlash. [online] The Huffington Post. Available at: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/11/06/victorias-secret-perfect-body-campaign_n_6115728.html [Accessed 24 Apr. 2017].

Leave a Reply

